• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter

The mess that is "Sony Alpha" (and a bit EOS)

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Brightcolours


    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,851 posts
  • LocationThe Netherlands

Posted 09 March 2017 - 03:45 PM

Sony calling all systems now "Alpha", be it DSLR/SLT FF/APS-C or mirrorless CFKANEX APD-C and mirrorless FF, makes for trouble in the lens review categories. 


Four thirds and Micro four thirds neatly have their separate categories. APS-C and FF tests neatly have their own categories.

Sony CFKANEX lives under "Sony NEX Lens Tests", yet it is not NEX anymore. Sony FF tests do not separate the different mounts, where four thirds and micro four thirds neatly do separate the different mounts (and Sony APS-C tests do separate, be it in the now wrong NEX moniker).


Canon EOS used to be neatly divided in FF and APS-C. But now, the different mirrorless EOS M mount gets lumped in with the DSLR EOS mount.


I gather that unsurely but slowly someone may or may not work on a new framework for photozone, maybe the lens mounts can be categorized more consistently there?

#2 Klaus


    Chief Editor

  • Moderators
  • 5,456 posts
  • LocationSydney, Australia

Posted 09 March 2017 - 08:06 PM

We just follow the mess ... ;-)


Sony started with NEX and now they are calling everything "Alpha".


However, yes, we should change all that.

The thing is - the original plan was to migrate to a new portal ... in early 2016. 

But Sebastian has different priorities at the moment.


I guess I will have to do it ... somehow.

Chief Editor

#3 Marco


    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts

Posted 11 March 2017 - 11:48 AM

Sony called NEX Alpha too.

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© by photozone.de