Opticallimits

Full Version: backup with too many duplicates, how to solve ?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I am rearranging my photos and i am facing the issue of duplicate files, it's occupying space and making searching for a photo more complicated any suggestions for a software that can help locating duplicates?

Well my solution is to write a little script that takes the sha256 and then delete files with matching hash.

I reckon you could try one of apps that a quick google search returns. For example “Duplicate photo fixer” seems to be one of them. There are of course others, some apparently even try to look into image itself. Keep in mind I have no experience with any of these.

I can very much relate to the multiplicity of files, as it used to be growing issue in my case. Years ago, solution for me came with Lightroom, with it’s indestructive approach to post processing.
Yup, that's exactly what media libraries are designed to avoid (if used properly).

The issue often reminds me of the early MP3 days: there was the "Winamp" crowd, read those who organized their files in folders and played with Winamp, and those who dived into iTunes challenge, so let go of the folder idea and relied on a library to handle the files.

(not meaning to promote iTunes in general with this post... in fact it has been a terrible peace of software for quite a while, almost like Outlook Wink Just mentioning it as a an example for the library idea, which means relying (and trusting) an application handle everything on file level, while on the user interface level lots of new possibilities open up, like searching for images by file date, aperture, keywords, smart albums, etc...)