Opticallimits

Full Version: next PZ lens test report: Fujinon XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 R LM OIS
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Impressive ...

http://www.opticallimits.com/fuji_x/783-fuji1855f284

... albeit somewhat decentered (again).

frank

I often hear the word "decentered". I wonder how boring a (moderately) decentered lens is in a real world? (I have no experience with a decentered lens---maybe I used a decentered lens but I didn't know.)

Frank
[quote name='Frank' timestamp='1359972698' post='21746']

I often hear the word "decentered". I wonder how boring a (moderately) decentered lens is in a real world? (I have no experience with a decentered lens---maybe I used a decentered lens but I didn't know.)

Frank

[/quote]

Well, if so you're a happy camper. [Image: tongue.gif]

Seriously there're three types of decentering effects:

- unsymmetrical sharpness distribution - this is also the case with the Fuji lens

- loss of contrast at large apertures

- a combination of both

bherman01545

Hello;

I recently registered on your site but have enjoyed the tests/reviews and the overall site in general for quite a while. I own a Fuji X-E! and several lenses - one of them being the Fujinon XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 R LM OIS lens.

I followed your instructions on how to test for decentering etc. Opened the lens to maximum aperture, used a tripod, manual focus etc. and enlarged the image in Live View. The inner-most edges were uniform when in and out of focus, (so that's good, right?) After that is when I got confused.

You stated "if you want to do it correctly - do it with a tripod and taske a picture with Live View AF". Would I then expect the resulting image to be sharp? When I performed the test with Live View AF and viewed it on the screen at 100%, I saw what appeared to be some artifacts and CA on the edges.