Opticallimits

Full Version: What is a good camera for indoor fish photography?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
What is a good camera for indoor fish photography (aquariums)? I guess the needs would be very fast focus in low light; low noise for decent aperture in low light; decent available lenses from around 18mm to 70mm (zoom would be prefer after all by the time you change the lens the fish will have gone into hiding). All my aquariums are freshwater but range from very dark blackwater to very bright well planted tank. I've been using a note 20 for the last 4 years but it just doesn't cut it esp the auto focus. Not really into 'movies' and the phone is fine for video anyways.
Why not a submersible DJI Osmo Action 4 (1" sensor) with a remote control?
Not sure whether it supports photos, but maybe worth to investigate?

As far as conventional cameras are concerned - interesting question which one would do fish detection AF ;-)
Sony has still the best AF.
(10-18-2023, 11:17 AM)Klaus Wrote: [ -> ]Why not a submersible DJI Osmo Action 4 (1" sensor) with a remote control?

As far as conventional cameras are concerned - interesting question which one would do fish detection AF ;-)

So a7 iv or something else ? Under water might be a cool twist but generally not effective for what i do as the tanks are heavily planted and usually i'm trying to capture more scenery. The blackwater aquarium is more of an exception though it has some nice hardscape once the tannis thins a bit.
Good to see there's a fellow aquarist and photographer.
For aquarium photography your worst enemy is the aquarium glass itself, the bigger the aquarium, the thicker the glass the more massive CA you have, if the aquarium glass is curved keep your expectations really low.
A golden rule is having the focus plane parallel to the aquarium glass otherwise expect nothing but a color soup whatever gear you are using.