Opticallimits
Wide Angle for X-T30 - Printable Version

+- Opticallimits (https://forum.opticallimits.com)
+-- Forum: Forums (https://forum.opticallimits.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Fujifilm (https://forum.opticallimits.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+--- Thread: Wide Angle for X-T30 (/showthread.php?tid=4738)

Pages: 1 2

Wide Angle for X-T30 - Hapo - 05-22-2020

...I am having a hard time choosing between the Fujinon XF 14mm/2.8 R and the Fujinon  XF 16mm/1.4 WR...

...I am leaning towards the 14mm/2.8 because it is wider, smaller, and lighter...

...my primary interest for this lens would be portraits of trees...

...I have been having trouble with getting them in frame in the available space with the 18-55mm/2.8...

...it does not seem like I would be giving up any IQ per se with the smaller lens but I have no experience with either of them...

...I have been looking at the sample images and not noticing much difference...I am not saying there isn't any...

...IQ wise I do not know if I would end up missing the extra speed of if I would be better off with the slower wider lens...

...one thing I would appreciate in my shooting is the ability to focus closely...the 16mm/1.4 seems to have an edge here...

...this would be the secondary function for whichever lens...

...one thing I already do not like is how heavy my modest camera bag is...

RE: Wide Angle Prime for X-T30 - MatjazO - 05-22-2020

“My” preffered wide angle is 16mm (on APS-C). Great for street and good for landscape. I can’t say I understand fully what you mean by “potraits of trees” ;-), however I take it that full swing landscapes are not main focus for you here. 14 would be more suited for these.

So, I would choose 16/1,4. As a light and also cheaper alternative, 16/2.8 is a good compromise.

RE: Wide Angle Prime for X-T30 - thxbb12 - 05-22-2020

I have the opposite opinion.
If 18mm is not enough, it's likely that 16 won't be either.
Heck, even 14mm might not be enough either.