Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is it possible to clean the mirror on Canon EOS 5D M2?
I'm not a techie, but have wondered about an issue.  I've seen a little smudge on the mirror of one of my cameras.  I'm not sure how AF works, but doesn't light go through tiny spots where the mirror is not  mirrored?  Everyone seems to be terrified to clean mirrors because it seems possible to clean the mirror off of the glass?  I've cleaned sensors before.  That's child's play.  But mirrors?

So I briefly looked online, and basically people could not even agree what the mirror is mirrored with.  Silver?  Aluminum?  Other?

For cleaning the sensor I used specially made lint free swabs and quick to evaporate methanol.  I highly recommend cleaning you sensor (following the right procedures, and if it is dirty.  You can test for that).

Here's the thing.  If the guy at the canon shop can clean the mirror, why can't I?  I just need to know the procedure and materials.  Surely, somebody must know?!

It's too risky don't do it, the mirror box has too many features like AF sensors that can be easily damaged, I wouldn't do it, nothing will appear in the final photos.
My thought was if the center point on the mirror was smudged it would slow down the focus, because I usually just use the middle focus point anyways.  So it would be one swipe on a plastic paddle with a lint free Peck Pad with methanol, or whatever is recommended.  I don't care if there is a little dirt toward the edges.

But I won't do it unless someone says that an ordinary human can do it, and not only a skilled camera technician!