Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lens Advice - Canon 550D
Hello all,

I am a relative newbie and am thinking about graduating up from the stock lens I purchased when I bought my camera (18-135mm 3.5-5.6f). I also have a 50mm 1.8f which I use for portraits. I am thinking of getting a new and affordable lens but am not sure what to look for.

What I'd like is better looking photos with increased depth of field (if possible) and perhaps something lighter.

I would generally use this as a walk-around lens and for traveling.

Welcome some suggestions!
Quote:Hello all,

I am a relative newbie and am thinking about graduating up from the stock lens I purchased when I bought my camera (18-135mm 3.5-5.6f). I also have a 50mm 1.8f which I use for portraits. I am thinking of getting a new and affordable lens but am not sure what to look for.

What I'd like is better looking photos with increased depth of field (if possible) and perhaps something lighter.

Do you perhaps mean decreased depth of field? You can increase DOF by closing down the aperture.
Quote:Hello all,

The 18-135 is actually pretty good.  If you want something lighter you will end with less range.

If you want more field-of-view (I suspect this is what you meant), the Canon EF 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 USM IS comes into mind. You'd sacrifice some tele range though and it's just as "heavy" (although the 18-135mm is really quite light weight).

Alternatively just add a true ultra-wide lens like the Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM.

Tips to buy second lense for Canon:-

My review here about the tips to buy lense:

Play with the kit lens for a while. Then take a look at the photos you took, and find the ones you like. Make a list of things you like or don't like about the photos.

If most of your photos end up near the same focal length, or you keep saying "I wish the background was more blurred" you should get a prime at that focal length. Ex: EF 50mm f/1.4 USM