Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fish eye lens for D7000
Hello everyone! I am currently on a hunt for a good fish eye lens or "Ultra wide angle lens" I had the tokina 11-16mm pro dx for my canon. I am making a transition to Nikon and looking for lenses. I love tokina but i would like to try something else. I have been looking for fish eye lens that wont give me that black circle on the photo. I personally find it horrible but that It's my preference. These are some that are I have been looking at

10.5 mm Fisheye nikon,

Rokinon 8mm 3.5

samyang 8mm

sigma 10.5 fish eye.

excuse my ignorance but I am not sure if some of those are even compatible with my D7000. I know the whole crop sensor its different from the FF but I am going insane trying to figure out which ones are the best one for my Dx camera :/ I am still learning guys! so any tip would be highly appreciated! Smile I am going to eventually buy my Tokina 11-16mm again but I really want a fish eye lens without that ugly circle on the photo. 

THANK YOUUUU!

I have the Samyang 8mm  fisheye ( stereo projection lens)  on APSc it has no black circle, what a great lens for the money, you have to stop down a little though, but when you do it's very sharp, supersharp in the center and the colours are great, but it's real forté is it's resistance against flare.

In the Pentax mount the aperture is controlled from the body, in the Canon I think it's all manual.

Unless you need to shoot a lot wide open this lens produces crackling images and all for a bargain price!

I also have the Samyang, and it is great value. Mine isn't great at f/3.5 though (feels like reduced contrast), but f/5.6 is good enough. At f/8 you don't have to worry much about focusing. I believe the Rokinon is just a rebranded version of the same. Unless you want to spend lots of cash on something, I'd recommend it.