Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What about a wide conversion lens?
I have no experience with it. Attaching a wide conversion lens to a specified normal lens can make the lens wider. I want to know the effect on IQ: sharpness, distortion, vignetting, flare, focussing, etc. I also want to know if the wide conversion lens changes the aperture of the lens. Does any body have experince with a wide conversion lens?

A specific example that draws my attension is the new pana DMW-GWC1. According to the descrption, it can be attached to a pana 14mm f2.5 to make it an 11mm lens (not mentioning the aperture). If the IQ is not reduced much, then it sounds a good deal to have a detached 14/2.5 (low price) + a DMW-GWC1. Then you will get two (U)WA lenses: an equiv. 28mm/f5 + an equiv. 22mm/f5(?). What do you think?

Thanks,

Frank
I just read from the panasonic site that "All Panasonic conversion lenses are front conversion type lenses, so the camera's F-stop is unchanged". (See http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/ds...how23.html)
Don´t know how the 14/2.5 lens is with this specific wa-converter, but in general you lose a lot in image quality. Most wa-converters are cheap, and you get what you pay for. Wa-converters are mainly used for film.

Göran
[quote name='goran h' timestamp='1340108478' post='18971']

Don´t know how the 14/2.5 lens is with this specific wa-converter, but in general you lose a lot in image quality. Most wa-converters are cheap, and you get what you pay for. Wa-converters are mainly used for film.

Göran

[/quote]

The Sony NEX WA converter was tested here along with the E16mm lens. The results seemed pretty good, all things considered, in that it didn't significantly degrade the IQ. The biggest issues for me would be that the WA converter adds complex distortion and I don't think the EXIF data would reflect the converted field of view. But for ~$130 it's not a huge risk combined with the 14mm lens.