Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Looking for a light 17-20mm MF lens (to be adapted to EOS)
For my next holiday, I want to take 3 MF lenses with me ...

- a wide - a normal - a small tele

For the normal I already have a Zeiss 45mm f/2.8 and for the tele, I will use

my Adaptall-2 Tamron 90/2.5 macro ... but I have no experience with MF wides.

So far, I found images and descriptions of these lenses:

- Adaptall-2 Tamron 17mm f/3.5

- M42 Flektogon 20/4

- M42 Flektogon 20/2.8

- M42 Mir-20M f/3.5

- Voigtlaender Skopar 20/3.5 (nice + light, but I found the price quite bold, even used)

Can any recommend one of these (or something else) ... I'm willing to put

up to 200-250 Euros on a used lens .

Thanks ... Rainer
If you are using an APS-C camera and if you are shooting between f/8 and f/11, the Voigtlander 20mm is a great lens. The image quality isn't good until f/8.

I like the color rendition produced by the lens.

It is very flare-resistant even without the hood, so it's good for shooting into the sun.

The best thing is that it is tiny and can easily be carried.
[quote name='Rainer' date='09 July 2010 - 10:56 PM' timestamp='1278712569' post='928']

- M42 Flektogon 20/4

- M42 Flektogon 20/2.8

- M42 Mir-20M f/3.5

- Voigtlaender Skopar 20/3.5 (nice + light, but I found the price quite bold, even used)

Thanks ... Rainer

[/quote]

Hi Rainer,

I was going to suggest the Zeiss 21/2.8, which is an excellent lens ... until I saw your budget. Sorry I can't help here, but would you mind saying which adapter you use? I've been reluctant to start using adapters due to lack of reliable info on how they perform - and the idea of using M42 lenses is very intriguing.
[quote name='Rainer' date='09 July 2010 - 11:56 PM' timestamp='1278712569' post='928']

- M42 Flektogon 20/4

- M42 Flektogon 20/2.8

- M42 Mir-20M f/3.5

Thanks ... Rainer

[/quote]

What about 14mm ?
[quote name='edge' date='10 July 2010 - 01:43 AM' timestamp='1278719020' post='931']