Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Watt kind of pictures did you take at the age of 22?
When I was 22, I was sort of happy to get a picture at all. More than 30 years later, I am sort of happy if I can see sort of sharp animals in a picture. Occasionally.

This Michel D'Oultremont... I wonder which kind of pictures he will take in 30 years from now, being already a master at his age. If I was not so overwhelmed, I'd be jealous  Huh or envy at least.

On his website are two nice videos and stunning projects and I wonder how this chap gets that kind of lenses at his age. I'm tempted to book a day with him.

At the age of 22 I was a happier photographer for sure ...

* Because carrying a tripod didn't bother me

* Individual images had a higher importance (remember that film was involved with costs ...)

* No pixel peeping

What kind of pictures did I take? Better pictures. Seriously. Because I did put more efforts into all this.

For me, it was some random stuff around the city, and some (crude) news shots because at the age of 22 - in 2003 - I was only just starting to work in the media. It was an embarrassment in most ways, and I prefer not to keep many memories of that time if I can help it.

I was using a borrowed Nikon Coolpix 3500 for that, believe it or not.

https://www.dpreview.com/articles/750023...ikoncp3500

Things became a little more interesting with the arrival of my first own camera, the Panasonic DMC-FZ1, but I was still years away from anything remotely resembling decent skills.

Voilà, my site from my youth when we shared a "hippy household" at  76 Station Road, Broxbourne.

We were all keen photographers at that time, thirty years later a friend (who recently died) and I were talking about the "old days" of this rented shared residence.......and we decided to publish a site dedicated to the memories of this great epoch.