Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Use SD or CF cards
My 7D mkii takes both, and I already have both, however here's the problem:

SD cards are cheap, readily available, laptops have plugs for them, readers are cheap and widespread, however to have wifi on 7D mkii I need canon w-E1 SD card so i will have to use CF.

the point is I will use wifi just to download photos.

So my choices:

get more SD cards, use laptop reader

get W-E1 plus CF to always keep in camera, use wifi to download.

is wifi pratical and fast enough for downloading photos, is it practical ?

Get an SD to CF adapter.

Quote:Get an SD to CF adapter.
isn't it slow ?? I don't want to compromise writing speed 
I have no experience with the SD-wifi, but why not just get a card reader that reads CF, too? They're cheap, and you's stay flexible and still could use both slots, if required.
Editor
opticallimits.com

My camera also has dual slots, and the one before that also had this arrangement. I've been using mostly SD ever since I got that previous camera (Canon 1D Mark II N) because they're that much easier in operation. I've switched to Micro SD (the full size SD found themselves in my wife's possession and god knows what she's been doing with them... I also gave all the CF cards away to colleagues) in the last few years since I got a smartphone because it's a very nice option to be able to transfer the photos to the phone (and further) by just swapping them in and out like I would when using laptop. So I think SD should be the default choice for most people???

I think after having coming back from a wedding with many hundreds of images,  you will find WiFi will be too slow to download all your images in any sort of reasonable time......

.....it's better suited to sending a few smaller Jpgs to the family wedding members,